September: a new month, more challenges and life teachings

 

@tradubelediBrenda L. Galván

September is here! A new month, a new perspective. So, this post is inspired on my colleague Chiara Bartolozzi’s post September • [Positive things challenge] . Last month, many of us faced challenges, but also situations that made us see life from a different perspective.  As translators, our profession is amazing and unique, but often challenging and sometimes lonely.

So, what’s for this month? Besides being a new welcome for a new month (as well as a few birthdays here and there), it’ll be International Translation Day, and a new project created by yours truly is about to be launched. Oh, by the way, did I forget to mention that I was one of the nominees for the ProZ #Community Choice Awards? That’s really amazing! Quite unexpected (Category: Translation, Sub-category: Twitter), but it is an honor. Voting will run until September 22nd, 2014 and winners will be announced on International Translation Day, September 30th, 2014. So, don’t forget to click and submit your vote:  http://www.proz.com/community-choice-awards 😉

My Twitter username @tradubeledi has (2)

What else? Last month I was challenged by my friend and colleague Lorena Parada-Valdes to list 3 positive things in a daily basis for 7 days. This experience may seem “trendy” for some of you, but for me, it was a big impact. Yes! I miss writing the 7-day positive things challenge. It changed my perspective and made me see beyond obstacles and bad days. Should I do it again? Maybe next month, who knows if I’m challenged again? 😉

So, to conclude this post: I invite you all to challenge your colleague, relative, friend, or spouse to list 3 positive things during 7 days.  You’ll see a difference.  I’m going to study for my final exam as I’m currently taking a training course of Medical Interpreting in order to offer and provide healthcare interpreting services in a future. See you all next time!

Hope you all have a wonderful month!

Leave a Reply

