Reflections and updates for this 2016

Hello, world!

Hope this 2016 is full of amazing things for each and every one of you.

I’ve been away for a long while due to unforeseen circumstances. Many of these situations tend to change your life in a snap to the point of seeing your life from a different perspective. I won’t go much in detail, but I can tell you the following:

I was working hard in a big project in which I learned new terminology and improved my performance for future assignments. However, I received the most horrible news just days after closing a deal. My maternal grandma, my hero and my everything, passed away in her sleep. I totally lost it and sunk in a deep, depressive sadness. My client called me to give his most sincere condolences and absolutely suggested me to take my time with this project, but I gave my word and decided to meet my deadline. So what did I do? Subcontract colleagues and divide the project to deliver it on time.

One month later, our colleague Olatz Rodríguez passed away at a very short age. She always gave her best to learn something new every day and always kept her humbleness. It’s sad I could not get to meet her in person, but she was definitely an inspiration for many of us.

Holidays turned lonely and overwhelming due to the loss of a beloved one, stress, and toxic racism you read (and hear) on the news from politicians and common citizens blinded by ignorance and misconceptions. But what could I do?

So, what have I learned from all this?

  • You need to take some time off to process your loss.

  • You need to have a list of trustworthy colleagues as a back-up plan for unexpected emergencies.

  • You need to travel out of town to new destinations and experience new exotic flavors as part of your healing process. May not heal, but might help.

  • Read books and sleep the best you can.

  • Try to not log in that much in social media. Schedule your posts, if possible.

  • If you are religious or practice a specific religion, read its holy book and meditate on it.

  • Go to the gym or do exercises at home… even if it’s just for 30 minutes or the minutes you feel comfortable doing it.

  • Do you have pets? They will be a bundle of joy and support! Brunita is a sassy bird, but she tries her best to show her support.

  • Rely on your close friends and relatives. These cases and situations will absolutely unveil people’s hearts and true colors.

  • And here I go again: subcontract to meet all your deadlines, if possible.You may not earn the expected amount, but you will absolutely reaffirm your clients and colleagues’ trust and respect.

  • As Carmen from eLingua.Net said a few days ago: A passing is a reminder on how fragile and precious life really is. It also highlights the fact that in our life we need to make every moment count because it is far too short.

I want to thank each and every one of you for your support. It means a lot to me and it is an irreplaceable and precious gift you can give to someone.

Have a wonderful day!
Brenda L. Galván & Tradubeledi Translations
Snapchat-286304693606775892-01
Leave a Reply

